Week 3 and 4

I have not wrote a post for a week now. Hmm... well I guess I will just update what happens now. So just last week (on Tuesday) I made my first actual presentation in front of the manager.

Preparing the Presentation

For me I was actually quite nervous of how I would do, especially since a lot of people in the previous round of presentations did pretty awful. I have to remember that this manager is a very demanding person, and he does not give a lot of leeway if you do not present well. Another problem I found that the week before, I did very little work, so I was also a bit nervous that I did not prepare enough.

Now, mind you, I did in fact finish what I was assigned to do, read the source code of AFL, and figure out what it did in and out, something that I was shocked as to that the other intern was unable to get. Here is my report for that.

Learning from the Internals...

However, despite the result of the presentation, I think something more important from this is what I have learned as a result. Hence, I will take this time to tell what I learned about AFL fuzzer after reading the source code. After going pass the smokes and mirrors of the high level implementation of AFL, I realized how simple AFL actually is. Essentially AFL tries out a lot of small deterministic mutations (bit flips, byte flips, arithmetic operations, dictionary splices) permuating over each possible position in a seed input. Most of the time, a program's branch condition only utilizes a small portion of a seed input. In this common case, AFL will be able to perform a "smart" bruteforce method that simply tries to increase the coverage of the binary without deep underlying symbolic knowledge of the program.

Once it performs a round of deterministic mutations, it will then switch to undeterministic mutations. How much should AFL try to mutate undeterministically before calling it quits, (since undeterministic mutations can, in theory, can cover a much larger input space than the deterministic mutation stage can. This input space is probably way too large to try all of them, so AFL can only test a small subset of this input space). So AFL actually uses some factors that help give more weight to certain test cases. I go into more detail in the report.

Lastly, AFL also has something called an "interesting input case" where a mutated input data would be "interesting" enough to add as a new seed input. This way, AFL will "remember" what paths it has already seen work and will build new input data that builds on top of these new seed inputs and advance deeper into the program. This is the genetic algorithm part of the program.

Elegant and Efficient

The most elegant thing I like about this AFL algorithm is that AFL does not in no way try to be accurate and precise. Instead it just approximates "interesting cases", i.e. cases with unique execution paths. This is both beneficial in only marking very differing input cases as "interesting" and also making a very time and memory efficient way of indicating this execution path. I think (tangent alert!) completely focusing on exact algorithms when preparing for coding competitions in high school, I completely forget another class of heuristics algorithms that don't compute the optimal solution, but a close enough solution. I think Dijkstra's algorithm is pretty cool in path finding, but when you try to apply this to the real world in GPS path finding, you realize your exact algorithm is just too slow to work. So in the world where close enough is good enough, this gives rise to these heuristics algorithm that trade-off some faster time/memory efficient algorithm for some minor inaccuracies. Maybe there is a faster route that is 50 meters shorter, but when you are driving a car around, WHO CARES?

AFL is a pretty cool software, something that would've never come up my radar had I had to prepare a report over it. However, I am glad that I looked at this software. I even started to use this to check some bugs in my program (just slap a few asserts into your program, and run AFL on it!). It reminds of this Liveoverflow's video that I just rewatched. (I very much <3 watching Liveoverflow's videos because they are both educational and fun to learn).

The Value in Little Chunks

Honestly, it felt like currently I was given too little work; however, I am still able to take away some really valuable information that I would not have touched otherwise. I told some of my friends that I haven't really done much so far during my summer internship (just did some research, read some source code, etc...), but I failed to really touch on the valuable information that I was able garner from this research. Now that I was able to gain this information, it becomes my own, and I can now integrate it into another tool inside my toolkit of knowledge.

Turns out, that presentation I made on Tuesday turned out to be much better than I had expected. I think I should've given more confidence than what I gave myself :/

Share